Guernsey Race Walking : Sarnia Walking Club

June 8, 2012

Championship Track 3000 metres

Filed under: 3 kilometres, Jason Le Noury, Phil Lockwood, Stuart Le Noury — sarnia @ 7:36 pm
Friday June 8th 2012
Sarnia Walking Club
Heritage Group Championships Race 6
3,000 metres track walk
Osmond Priaulx, Guernsey
Close to Best Time
Blustery conditions on a warm evening greeted the walkers in the sixth race of the Heritage Group SWC Championships at Footes Lane over 3,000 metres. Winner Stuart Le Noury. led from start to finish to get within seconds of his personal best time with a 14.01.4 clocking. Passing the one kilometre point in 4.29, he was well set up to beat 14.00 minutes until the final few laps when slowing down.
A close race for second place was only settled in the final metres as Jason Le Noury powered past Phil Lockwood to win by a few strides. Thay had passed the kilometre point in 4.52 and 4.54 respectively, with the gap staying that close for lap after lap until the final lap when Lockwood made his bid to try and lose the younger Jason as they strode in to the final lap almost shoulder to shoulder. A 1.44 last lap for Phil was not quite quick enough. The effort was in vain as youth won the day in the closing stages. Both walkers easily breaking 15.00 minutes.
The Womens race was won by Jayne Le Noury in 20.37.6 from Kay Coulson.
Phil Lockwood leads the Jubilee Tankard Handicap Championship narrowly from Terry Bates.
Todays handicap results, 1 Le Sauvage 22.47 (2.00 hcap), 2 Coulson 22.58 (scr), 3 S Le Noury 23.02 (9.00), 4 Lockwood 23.18 (8.30), 5 Bates 23.26 (5.45), 6 Jason Le Noury 23.32 (8.45), 7 K Le Noury 23.36 (3.45), 8 Jayne Le Noury 23.38 (3.00).
Jayne Le Noury  walked the recent Guernsey Race for Life event in hot conditions, timing herself at 34.49 for the 5 kilometres distance. Jayne started at the back of the big field behind the runners and with the joggers in an effort to give herself a clear road.
Past Church to Church walk winners Peter Ryan and Fiona Bishop have again entered the event in September, joining another winner Michael George from the Isle of Man. Fellow Manx islanders Enid Watson and Irene George join him. Newcomer from Lancashire, England Ian Mackenzie has also entered.
The next race is on Friday June 22nd at 6.30 pm at Les Amarreurs. The distance is 3 kilometres and is the 7th race in the Heritage Group Championships.
1 Stuart Le Noury M 14.01.4
2 Jason Le Noury M 14.46.2
3 Phil Lockwood M35 14.47.8
4 Terry Bates M60 17.40.5
5 Kevin Le Noury M50 19.50.5
6 Mick Le Sauvage M70 20.46.2
1 Jayne Le Noury W50 20.37.6
2 Kay Coulson W40 22.57.8

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: