Guernsey Race Walking : Sarnia Walking Club

December 8, 2013

Hill Climb


winners hill climb Sarnia Walking Club
Le Val des Terres 815 metres.
St Peter Port, Guernsey
Eight in a row for Stuart
Stuart Le Noury was the quickest walker up the Val des Terres in the Canaccord Genuity Wealth Management Hill Climb for the eighth consecutive year. He walked the 815 metres in 4.43 to regain the Rob Waterman Shield for the fastest male walker. He was three seconds ahead of brother Jason Le Noury`s 4.46, whose effort was walked a few minutes later. Jason knocked nine seconds off his best time set back in 2008. Walkers are set off at one minute intervals to tackle the climb in a time trial event. Third fastest was Terry Bates in 5.39 in his final race in Guernsey before moving back to the Isle of Man after living here for 10 years. An after race breakfast was held at the Half Moon, courtesy of Terry, who we look forward to seeing again when visiting Guernsey in the future.
Rob Elliott, the hill climb record holder at 4.07, finished in fourth just outside 6 minutes ahead of Kevin Le Noury. Rob was quite pleased to once again get the better of him in this event. Mick Le Sauvage broke his own M70 best time with a 7 minutes dead clocking, walking three seconds faster than his old M70 time of 7.03. Dave Dorey and John Dedman walked 7.08 and 7.24 respectively. Gordon Mercier, a stalwart runner for the GIAAC, now 55 years old had a go at his first race walk and even claimed to enjoy it! The surprise there is that this course is one of the hardest to do, even though it is a short distance. We look forward to him competing again.
Karen Farman won the Womens Shield with a winning time of 6.36, ahead of Jayne Le Noury 6.55 and Kay Coulson 7.18. Fourth home was past winner Rose Druckes in 7.37.
The next walk is on Sunday December 15th at 9.30 am at Footes Lane. The distance is 2,000 metres and is the fourth race in the Bob Wright Handicap Series. Details from Jayne Le Noury
1 Stuart Le Noury M 4.43
2 Jason Le Noury M 4.46
3 Terry Bates M 5.39
4 Rob Elliott M 6.03
5 Kevin Le Noury M 6.14
6 Karen Farman W 6.36
7 Jayne Le Noury W 6.55
8 Mick Le Sauvage M 7.00
9 Dave Dorey M 7.08
10 Kay Coulson W 7.18
11 John Dedman M 7.24
12 Rose Druckes W 7.37
13 Gordon Mercier M 7.41

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: