Guernsey Race Walking : Sarnia Walking Club

April 3, 2016

Eric Waldron 2 miles

cic logo with details and dialing code 01481 high res

Sunday April 3rd 2016

Sarnia Walking Club Channel Island Ceramics Eric Waldron Trophy

2 miles track walk at Osmond Priaulx, Guernsey

RWA Permit 6031-1

Stuart wins Waldron Trophy for 7th time

Stuart Le Noury won the Channel Island Ceramics Eric Waldron Trophy for the seventh time after losing his nearest challenger mid way through the race. Brothers Stuart and Jason Le Noury headed the field of 12 walkers from the start of the traditional 2 miles walk, first contested back in 1964. Together for 3 laps, the eventual winner pulled away to cross the line in 15.43, leaving second placed Jason over half a minute behind.

Third to finish was Rob Elliott in 18.12 who soon left his nearest challenger Phil Lockwood behind. An even paced walk gave Elliott a half minute cushion over Phil, who is in training for the London Marathon being held soon.

Young Alex Sinkevics overtook the elder Kevin Le Noury in the closing lap to finish in 20.43, five seconds ahead.

The fastest of the women was Marie Macdonald in 22.07, a seven seconds personal best time, beating her time set last year. Jayne Le Noury took second place in 22.50, ahead of a fast finishing Kay Coulson in 23.12.

Peter Beckerleg, having been overtaken by Kay late on finished in 23.15 with Dave Dorey closing in 24.06.

The next walk is on Sunday April 17th at Delancey Park at 9.30 am over a distance of 10 kilometres. It is the second race in the Heritage Championships. Details from Jayne Le Noury,

Slight change to the fixture list is the walk on Sunday May 29th . The race will now start at 9.00 am, due to walkers wishing to take part in the Race for Life being held soon after. Other details remain the same.

Pos Athlete Club Time
1 Stuart Le Noury M Sarnia Walking Club 15.43
2 Jason Le Noury M Sarnia Walking Club 16.18
3 Rob Elliott M55 Sarnia Walking Club 18.12
4 Phil Lockwood M40 Sarnia Walking Club 18.42
5 Alex Sinkevics U17 Sarnia Walking Club 20.43
6 Kevin Le Noury M55 Sarnia Walking Club 20.48
7 Mick Le Sauvage M75 Sarnia Walking Club 21.45
8 Marie Macdonald W40 Sarnia Walking Club 22.07
9 Jayne Le Noury W55 Sarnia Walking Club 22.50
10 Kay Coulson W45 Sarnia Walking Club 23.12
11 Peter Beckerleg M55 Sarnia Walking Club 23.15
12 Dave Dorey M65 Sarnia Walking Club 24.06


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: