Guernsey Race Walking : Sarnia Walking Club

December 16, 2018

Val des Terres Hill Climb

Sarnia Walking Club

Le Val des Terres Hill Climb 815 metres

St Peter Port, Guernsey

Twelve wins for Stuart Le Noury

Fastest man up the hill in the Val des Terres time trial was Stuart Le Noury recording his 12th win in a time of 4.46 to take home the Rob Waterman Hill Climb Shield in this annual event first contested for in 1966. 

Womens winner Donna Allan removed five seconds from her best time to take the Ladies Shield in a time of 6.13 and equalled the age group best set by Marie MacDonald a few years ago.. Making the most of the good conditions, she finished ahead of Wendy Wilson, who also recorded a new best time of just under 7 minutes. Third place went to Jayne Le Noury, a few seconds ahead of Kay Coulson.

Jason Le Noury, making a rare appearance walked 5.09 for second place in the mens section. Walk of the day was probably by Kevin Allan in 5th place who removed 41 seconds from his previous best time.

Rob Waterman Hill Climb Shield Men

1 Stuart Le Noury M 4.46

2 Jason Le Noury M 5.09

3 Rob Elliott M55 5.48

4 Kevin Le Noury M60 6.15

5 Kevin Allan M40 6.52

6 Peter Beckerleg M60 6.56

7 Mick Le Sauvage M75 7.56

SWC Ladies Hill Climb Shield

1 Donna Allan W40 6.13

2  Wendy Wilson W55 6.58

3 Jayne Le Noury W55 7.32

4 Kay Coulson W50 7.36

Rob Elliott for SWC

Guernsey Race Walking

December 17, 2017

Val des Terres Hill Climb

Sunday December 17th 2017

Sarnia Walking Club

Le Val des Terres Hill Climb

St Peter Port, Guernsey

815 metres road walk

Stuart adds to total wins

As expected, Stuart Le Noury added to his impressive list of wins in the annual Le Val des Terres Hill Climb when finishing just outside 5 minutes for the 815 metres course. Second man home was past winner Rob Elliott in 5.50. Leading woman Donna Allan improved on her previous best time by 12 seconds to take the womens trophy in 6.18, from Wendy Wilson and Jayne Le Noury.

Third man home was Kevin Le Noury a few seconds behind Donna. Walked at one minute intervals in a time trial this event has been going since 1966 with stalwarts Mick Le Sauvage back in 6th place and Dave Dorey 8th place not missing many of them since then.

At the other end of the scale Wendy Wilson and Kevin Allan were walking their first hill climb.

1 Stuart Le Noury 5.02

2 Rob Elliott 5.50

3 Donna Allan 6.18

4 Kevin Le Noury 6.20

5 Wendy Wilson 7.05

6 Mick Le Sauvage 7.22

7 Kevin Allan 7.33

8 Jayne Le Noury 7.55

9 Dave Dorey 8.00

December 11, 2016

Hill Climb



Left to right….Jayne Le Noury, Olga Le Noury, Donna Allan and Marie Macdonald

Sunday December 11th 2016

Sarnia Walking Club

Canaccord Genuity Le Val des Terres Hill Climb

815 metres

St Peter Port, Guernsey

Five seconds separate top 3 women

Only five seconds separated the top three women in the Canaccord Hill Climb up the Val des Terres over the 815 metres climb. The 51st edition of the event, held as customary with walkers going up the hill at one minute intervals, saw Donna Allan claim first place in 6.30 in the ladies section in her first hill climb

Down on their previous best times Marie Macdonald and Olga Le Noury finished in 6.32 and 6.35 respectively. Jayne Le Noury, as consistent as ever finished one second quicker than in 2015.

fullsizerender-5As expected the overall winner was Stuart Le Noury (centre) in 4.48, with his tenth Hill Climb win. Second quickest was course record holder Rob Elliott (Left), well behind in 5.48, followed by Kevin Le Noury ( right) in 6.05.

Phil Lockwood, Mick Le Sauvage and Dave Dorey completed the event in 4th, 5th and 6th in the mens section.

The next race is on Sunday December 18th at 9.30 am at the Imperial Hotel. Distance is three miles on the Rocquaine Circuit. Details from Jayne Le Noury,

Rob Waterman Hill Climb Shield

1 Stuart Le Noury M 4.48

2 Rob Elliott M55 5.48

3 Kevin Le Noury M55 6.05

4 Phil Lockwood M40 6.24

5 Mick Le Sauvage M75 7.19

6 Dave Dorey M65 8.09

Ladies Hill Climb Shield

1 Donna Allan W40 6.30

2 Marie Macdonald W40 6.32

3 Olga Le Noury W35 6.35

4 Jayne Le Noury W55 7.17

December 13, 2015

50th annual Hill Climb

Sunday December 13th 2015

Sarnia Walking Club

50th annual Le Val des Terres Hill Climb

815 metres, Guernsey

Stuart adds to winning list

Stuart Le Noury added to his total of victories in the 50th annual hill climb up Le Val des Terres, beating Rob Elliott by 22 seconds. Walkers are set off up the hill at one minute intervals in a time trial up the 815 metres course. Third fastest male was Kevin Le Noury, only a second faster than young Alex Sinkevics.

Walks of the day were to be found amongst the woman, with defending Champion Marie Macdonald, walking a new personal best time of 6.13 but having to see Olga Sinkevica race up the hill six seconds quicker in a winning time of 6.07. This time smashed her last years time by forty seconds.

Marie and Mick Le Sauvage both improved their own age best times.

The next walk is on Sunday December 27th at Rocquaine Bay over a hilly 3 miles course starting at 9.30 am. Details from Jayne Le Noiury,

1 Stuart Le Noury 5.06

2 Rob Elliott 5.28

3 Kevin Le Noury 6.04

4 Alex Sinkevics 6.05

5 Olga Sinkevica 6.07

6 Marie Macdonlad 6.13

7 Peter Beckerleg 6.22

8 Mick Le Sauvage 7.01

9 Kay Coulson 7.11

10 Jayne Le Noury 7.18

11 Dave Dorey 7.52

December 21, 2014

Guernsey Press 50th anniversary report

hill climb press report 2014

December 14, 2014

5oth anniversary Hill Climb Walk

website group

Sunday December 14th 2014

Sarnia Walking Club

Le Val des Terres Hill Climb, Guernsey

815 metres

Jason ends brothers winning streak

The winning streak of eight Le Val des Terres Hill Climbs wins by Stuart Le Noury was finally broken by his brother Jason as the younger brother walked the hill five seconds quicker in 4.50. Walkers are set off at one minute intervals against the clock and not in direct competition with each other and Stuart having walked up could only watch as Jason crossed the line that bit quicker. Third place went to Rob Elliott, with his quickest time for a good few years in 5.21. Womens champion Karen Farman, walked ten seconds faster than winning in 2013 with 6.26  but was beaten in 2014 by Marie Macdonald and her time of 6.15. Third place went to Olga Sinkevicha, walking her first race, with 6.47, just ahead of Kay Coulson, who set a new personal best time of 6.51.

The race marked the 50th anniversary of the Sarnia Walking Clubs formation back in 1964, with the annual hill climb race for the Rob Waterman Shield starting a few years later. The next walk is on Sunday December 28th over a distance of 3 miles on the new Rocquaine Bay Circuit starting at 9.30 am. Details from Jayne Le Noury

Men for the Rob Waterman Shield      menswinner

1 Jason Le Noury M 4.50

2 Stuart Le Noury M 4.55

3 Rob Elliott M55 5.21

4 Kevin Le Noury M55 6.02

5 Peter Beckerleg M 55 6.18

6 Dave Dorey M65 7.07

7 Mick Le Sauvage M75 7.17

Women for the SWC Womens Shield     womens winner

1 Marie Macdonald W40 6.15

2 Karen Farman W35 6.26

3 Olga Sinkevicha W 6.47

4 Kay Coulson W45 6.51

5 Jayne Le Noury  W50 7.10